Home » Uncategorized » Kesha, the American Pop Music Industry, and Cultures of Production

Kesha, the American Pop Music Industry, and Cultures of Production

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,205 other followers

RSS Ethnopopgirl on Video Tech and Culture

  • Chuck Berry -curating sounds and memories March 20, 2017
    Update: (okay, it took less than a couple of hours to get to this, but you knew I would). I have to include this wonderful retrospective by Peter Guralnick about his interview with Berry, Little Richard, Jerry Lee Lewis, and Fats Domino in New Orleans in 2011. (You think of trying to interview them as … Continue reading →
    ethnopopgirl
  • Total randomness – how else to deal with this year’s Oscars? February 28, 2017
    I’m a fairly rabid reader of The New Yorker, for what it’s worth. And today’s article on the glitch in the Best Picture Awards at the Oscars this year struck me as one of those moments where we create our own soundtrack. Since I’ve been posting on this blog more regularly lately, I thought I’d share … Continue reading →
    ethnopopgirl
  • RIP Clyde Stubblefield February 21, 2017
    There are far too many losses to the music world, this year, and every year – maybe last year just sensitized me to it or maybe we’re getting to that generational shift? Either way, today I’m sharing the soundtrack that’s guiding my morning and a brief obit from Digital Music News. Let the Funky Drummer … Continue reading →
    ethnopopgirl
  • Remembering Al Jarreau February 13, 2017
    Just a quick post today. Al Jarreau was one of the voices of my childhood and teen years – one of the happy, beautiful voices that countermanded all the emotional art rock I consumed at the same time. This tribute was put together by Wisconsin Public Radio – there’s a request by his family to … Continue reading →
    ethnopopgirl
  • Thinking about protest music, the Women’s March, and Joan Baez February 7, 2017
    Rolling Stone published an interview with Joan Baez yesterday about the Women’s March and protest music. While I strongly recommend reading it, there are a couple of highlights I’m thinking about. There’s a lack of music as a positive, uplifting (Baez’s word) force right now – protests are focused on anger. This movement needs an … Continue reading → […]
    ethnopopgirl
  • On protest music in the current age 1.28.17 January 28, 2017
    I’ve renewed an old research interest – protest music. Not terribly a shocking interest for an ethnomusicologist in the crazy times we’re seeing, but it’s been a recurring theme in my toolkit of research subjects. John Mellencamp (whose work I don’t normally look at) just released a really interesting song that takes on inequality, protest … Continue reading […]
    ethnopopgirl
  • Mourning 2016 Musicians – Glenn Frey January 18, 2017
    This is just a brief post but I anticipate more of these to follow – every one of the artists I miss deserves a post of his/her own. So I’m still not over last year’s losses. And by that I mean the musicians lost to the world when they died last year. For me this … Continue reading →
    ethnopopgirl
  • A guest blog from my new housemates August 5, 2016
    I broke down this week and did something I avoid – I went to the local animal shelter (because I can’t go without bringing home new friends). Even worse, I went into the kitten room and was immediately accosted by two small feline persons who informed me in no uncertain terms that I was taking … Continue reading →
    ethnopopgirl
  • Re-investigating home base May 20, 2016
    For those of you who do not know me in “real” life, I was trained as an art music musician (what most folks call classical music, which I have issues with, which will likely be the topic of another post on another day…). Recently, as in about three weeks ago, I took a new job … Continue reading →
    ethnopopgirl
  • Kesha, the American Pop Music Industry, and Cultures of Production February 26, 2016
    So this the the world I study, folks. The ways that the music recording industry interacts with performers, and in particular how these two parts of the music world intersect with how music gets made. I encourage you to pay attention to the Kesha/Sony case, not the least of which because it’s another example of … Continue reading →
    ethnopopgirl

Ethnopopgirl Archived

Blog Stats

  • 815 hits

NetworkedBlogs on Facebook

So this the the world I study, folks. The ways that the music recording industry interacts with performers, and in particular how these two parts of the music world intersect with how music gets made.

I encourage you to pay attention to the Kesha/Sony case, not the least of which because it’s another example of how problematic the relationships are between performers and their labels.

The Amanda Petrusich’s article in the New Yorker yesterday (2/25/16) does a nice job of identifying one of the big issues here – not about right or wrong, but in the ways the American system of economy and justice assumes that – as Petrusich put it – “since Sony has an undeniable mercenary stake in Kesha’s continued success, it is likely acting in her best interest.”

Seriously?

Kesha signed her current contract when she was eighteen. EIGHTEEN. There is a long history of labels signing young performers, and there is also an equally problematic history of the catches buried in those contracts.

 

Leave a Reply

